Concert and Theatre Productions
Rugby School boasts three different areas suitable for a concert or theatre production.
The Macready Theatre is fully equipped, seating 250 with full technical support if required. Originally built in 1885, as a successor to Old Big School, it remained as classrooms until the mid 1970s when it was converted. Now taking bookings further to building improvements!
The Temple Speech Room is magnificent and ideal for conferences, exhibitions, product launches and dinners. It can seat up to 650 theatre style for a conference. Named after a former Rugby Headmaster Frederick Temple, who later became the Archbishop of Canterbury, it was opened in 1909 by King Edward VII. The building houses the rare Bryceson organ and two superb concert pianos.
The Collingwood Centre boasts a modern hall and is the latest addition to Rugby School. A former Catholic school this beautifully refurbished three-storey building was formally opened in November 2013 by Sir Ewen Fergusson. It is now home to a plethora of classrooms and also has a board room, large break out room, a debating chamber, central hall and sports hall, which are all available for hire. It is named after R. G. Collingwood ([Wilson’s] C 1903-08), the leading philosopher of history in the inter-war years, and the inscription on the wall in reception, ‘All history is the history of thought’, is from his book, 'The Idea of History'. The Centre’s most prominent feature however, is the 11 metre-long drawing of a sperm whale by Jonathan Delafield Cook which takes pride of place in the central hall.