With its rich heritage and beautiful surroundings, location managers are inspired by the outstanding buildings and grounds at Rugby School.
The School's original classroom, Old Big School, is located next to the Old Quad and Chapel, and was the lower school’s classroom for much of the 19th century. As many as five classes worked here at the same time and the graffiti on the original wood panelling became a tradition (although always illegal) dating back to the early 1800s.
The Temple Speech Room is a magnificent room used for many of the School's renowned musical concerts. Named after former Rugby Headmaster, Fredrick Temple, who later became Archbishop of Canterbury, it was opened in 1909 by King Edward VII. The building houses the rare Bryceson organ and has previously hosted the BBC's Mastermind.
The Chapel is a remarkable and unique building, the majority designed by Butterfield. Dating back to 1872, its blend of styles is representative of the work of four different men, encompassing nearly 150 years. It features an outstanding 15th century stained glass window.
At the centre of these incredible buildings and two centuries of Rugby School history lies The Close; a living monument to the origins of Rugby Football. It was here, in 1823, that a local boy, William Webb Ellis first ran with the ball and invented the game of rugby. The current site includes two rugby pitches and a fabulous cricket square. Located next to The Close is the James Pavilion with its glorious view of The Close and the school buildings. Opposite is the Green Pavilion, a listed building thought to be the country's oldest surviving cricket pavilion.
As well as the televising of BBC’s Mastermind in the Temple Speech Room, the School’s amazing surroundings have been used by French fashion company Eden Park who provided the film set for Tom Brown’s Schooldays. More recently our grounds have been used as part of Dominic Sandbrook's series 'Let us entertain you' and as the staging for the 2015 Rugby World Cup opening ceremony (view here).