When the Society was founded . . .

The Society was founded at a meeting in London, at the Charing Cross Hotel, on December 19th, 1889.

Algernon Rutter (one of the Rugbeians who created the first national code of Rugby for the RFU) was the Secretary at this meeting, but it may be said that Samuel Pratt Berhens Bucknill (Town 1860-1868) was the prime mover, as it was he who first wrote to Dr Percival and spoke of ‘a small committee of Rugby men who are interested in the school’.  

The society was effectively formalised at a meeting on January 30th, 1980, and the rules were duly sent to the Meteor.