Town House, 14 Horton Crescent, Rugby, CV22 5DJ
Tel: +44 (0) 1788 556 210 | Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
ABOUT THE HOUSE
The day boys' House can trace its origins to the foundation of the School in 1567. Officially recognised as a 'House' in 1888 and granted their own tutors in 1891, Town boys gained their first premises in 1902, when the first 'Town Room' was built. The current building was opened in September 1971 and the latest phase of refurbishment was completed in 2008.
William Webb Ellis, the boy who 'with a fine disregard for the rules, first took the ball in his arms and ran with it,' was a member of Town House.
Town House is unique as the boys’ day house which caters for pupils who live within a commutable distance of Rugby. The house has a broad mix of boys, 40 per cent of whom have come through the maintained sector prior to Rugby. The boys are well represented in all areas of School life and the House is an inclusive friendly place and the boys have respect for those who excel in any field.
Tony Darby moved to Rugby in 2003 having spent seven years teaching at Queen’s College, Taunton. He has been Head of Economics & Business Studies for eight years, as well as coaching a variety of sports including Rugby, Hockey, Soccer, Tennis and Cricket. On the pastoral side he was first a tutor and then Ahm in Stanley until 2009, and has since spent two years in Kilbracken tutoring. He is married to Leah and they have two children: Bella and Lewis.